Week 20–Scanning Poems

Related image

I did it again, I am so sorry! I am going to post the rest of your work right now. But for today, work on your Poetry of Music Projects. Your last Jon Foreman analysis. 🙂

This week I want to slow down and review what we learned in class this week–scanning a poem. I am going to give you two poems this week and ask you to print them out, then scan the meter (U / ), and label the rhyme scheme (a,b,a,b etc.).

If you were absent on Friday, I need you to watch the amazing video below called “Hip Hop and Shakespeare”

Monday–

  • Poetry of Music Project-Last Jon Foreman Song
  • No Literary Terms Project this week

Tuesday–

  • Please review the short video on iambic pentameter that I posted last week

  • Print, scan the meter, and label the rhyme scheme–Poem 1

Wednesday–

  • Print, scan the meter, and label the rhyme scheme–Poem 2
  • Week 20 Grammar–Comma Splices, Run-On Sentences, and Incomplete Sentences

Thursday–

  • Questions For Thought and Analysis (scroll to the bottom) put this activity in your folder with the label “Activity 11” at the top
  • Put both printed poems in your Poetry Folder–label poem 1 “Activity 9” and label poem 2 “Activity 10”

Go through your Poetry Folder and make sure everything is in order:

  • Activity 1–“Dust of Snow” and “Lost”
  • Activity 2–Analysis of Art Picture
  • Activity 3–“What Skills Help You Enjoy poetry” chapter and “Your Turn”
  • Activity 4–Analysis of “My Father’s Song” and “First Lesson”
  • Activity 5–Analysis of “A Blessing”
  • Activity 6–Analysis of “Woman Work” and “Daily”
  • Activity 7–Analysis of Haiku
  • Activity 8–Analysis of “Once By the Pacific” by Robert Frost
  • Activity 9–Scanning “Stopping by Woods…”
  • Activity 10–Scanning “When I Consider…”
  • Activity 11–Analysis of “Stopping by Woods…” and “When I Consider”

Image result for robert frost quotes

 

Poem 1

I want to revisit a poem you read last week, “Stopping By Woods On a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost. Print this poem, then use a pen to scan the stressed and unstressed syllables, like we did in class. Also, label the rhyme scheme using the a,b,c method we did in class.

“Stopping By Woods On a Snowy Evening
Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.
My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.
He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.
The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Poem 2

The second poem is called, “When I Consider How My Light Is Spent” is a Petrarchan sonnet written by John Milton. John Milton is famous for writing Paradise Lost. The title is significant considering that Milton was blind, light and dark were the same to him. Consider this as you read.

It is kind of hard to understand the poem, so I will post this short summary from schmoop to help you:

“The first seven and a half lines of this poem are one big, long, confusing sentence. Here’s our summary: “When I think of how I have lost my vision even before middle age, and how I am unable to use my best talent to serve God, I want to ask if God requires his servants to work for him even if they don’t have vision.”

But before he can speak up, a figure called Patience answers his question. Patience is like, “You think God needs your work? No, man. His best servants are the ones who bear life’s burden the best. He already has thousands of people running around across land and sea to serve him. You can just stand right there and wait on him, and that’s enough.”

Image result for john milton quotes

When I Consider How My Light is Spent

When I consider how my light is spent,
Ere half my days in this dark world and wide,
And that one talent which is death to hide
Lodged with me useless, though my soul more bent
To serve therewith my Maker, and present
My true account, lest He returning chide;
“Doth God exact day-labor, light denied?”
I fondly ask. But Patience, to prevent
That murmur, soon replies, “God doth not need
Either man’s work or His own gifts. Who best
Bear His mild yoke, they serve Him best. His state
Is kingly: thousands at His bidding speed,
And post o’er land and ocean without rest;
They also serve who only stand and wait.”

Questions for Thought and Analysis

  1. Image result for john milton quotesIn Frost’s “Stopping in Woods” poem, why isn’t it a sonnet, give me two solid reasons?
  2. Is this poem iambic?
  3. Look at the types of metrical feet in your literary terms notebook. Is this poem pentameter, tetrameter, or hexameter?
  4. What imagery do sticks out to you in this poem?
  5. What mood do the images evoke?
  6. Why do you think the speaker of the poem repeats the last two lines? Do they have different meaning? explain.
  7. What does the theme say to you about life in general?
  8. In Milton’s poem “When I Consider,” we see a division between lines 8-9. What is happens in the first half and what happens in the second half?
  9. Vocabulary–What words were hard for you to understand? List 5 words and their definitions (that you looked up in a dictionary).
  10. What do you think about the last line of the poem? Is it encouraging? Can you think of a person you know who is serving God by bearing a burden and waiting on God? Explain.
  11. What is the theme of “When I Consider”?
Image result for john milton quotes
Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

