Week 2–The Most Dangerous Game

Image result for the most dangerous game

This week we are going to read an amazing and suspenseful short story called “The Most Dangerous Game.” This story by Richard Connell takes the controversial topic of hunting to extremes.

One of the things I want you to consider, before we begin the story, is what do you think of hunting for food? What about hunting for sport?

The following video is a satire–the use of humor, irony, exaggeration, or ridicule to expose and criticize people’s stupidity or vices, particularly in the context of contemporary politics and other topical issues.

I just thought that was funny.

In order to consider these different points of view I am going to have you read some persuasive essays written from both perspectives.

I also want you to read Psalm 10. I want you to see how the wicked lie in wait for the innocent and they really believe they will get away with it. The Bible even compares them to those who hunt for prey.

Psalm 10

New King James Version (NKJV)

A Song of Confidence in God’s Triumph over Evil

10 Why do You stand afar off, O Lord?
Why do You hide in times of trouble?
The wicked in his pride persecutes the poor;
Let them be caught in the plots which they have devised.

For the wicked boasts of his heart’s desire;
He blesses the greedy and renounces the Lord.
The wicked in his proud countenance does not seek God;
God is in none of his thoughts.

His ways are always prospering;
Your judgments are far above, out of his sight;
As for all his enemies, he sneers at them.
He has said in his heart, “I shall not be moved;
I shall never be in adversity.”
His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and oppression;
Under his tongue is trouble and iniquity.

He sits in the lurking places of the villages;
In the secret places he murders the innocent;
His eyes are secretly fixed on the helpless.
He lies in wait secretly, as a lion in his den;
He lies in wait to catch the poor;
He catches the poor when he draws him into his net.
10 So he crouches, he lies low,
That the helpless may fall by his strength.
11 He has said in his heart,
“God has forgotten;
He hides His face;
He will never see.”

12 Arise, O Lord!
O God, lift up Your hand!
Do not forget the humble.
13 Why do the wicked renounce God?
He has said in his heart,
“You will not require an account.

14 But You have seen, for You observe trouble and grief,
To repay it by Your hand.
The helpless commits himself to You;
You are the helper of the fatherless.
15 Break the arm of the wicked and the evil man;
Seek out his wickedness until You find none.

16 The Lord is King forever and ever;
The nations have perished out of His land.
17 Lord, You have heard the desire of the humble;
You will prepare their heart;
You will cause Your ear to hear,
18 To do justice to the fatherless and the oppressed,
That the man of the earth may oppress no more.

One more thing–Today is all you’ll ever have….

I was just thinking that I wish I had more time in class with you!!! When we talked about the song “This is Your Life” by Switchfoot, there was a line that I wanted to discuss with you. “Today is all you’ll ever have”– this line has a double meaning. The first meaning is very literal. The only day you will ever live is today. By the time it is tomorrow, tomorrow is your new today. Jesus even emphasizes this truth when He says, “Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34. You can only worry about today. Each day.

The second truth in this line is more figurative. It is the idea that today is the only day you are guaranteed. You are not promised tomorrow. You need to live each day as if it is your last. Right now it seems like you all have long life promised to you, but you don’t. None of us do. None of us knows how many days we have left. When I was your age I had friends dying. It was shocking. We thought we were all immortal. The latin phrase for this sentiment is Carpe Diem, which you all probably know means “seize the day.” This is a truth the world understands (but not fully). I want you to watch this scene from an old movie called Dead Poet’s Society:

He says, “Make your lives extraordinary.” And of course, do that. But Jesus gives us different advice. When he teaches us in Matthew 6 to not worry about tomorrow, but live TODAY, He first says, “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you. How do non-believers “seize the day”? They live for accomplishments, pleasures, success, pride, possessions, fun, etc. “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans pursue all these things, and your Heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness.”

So as you live your life TODAY, each day ask yourself, what am I seeking? Is it worldly things that non-Christians seek. Or do you seek Christ? If you seek Christ, His kingdom and His righteousness you will find that many of these things will be added to your life–good meals, pleasure, joy, loving relationships, great memories– and this stuff will be eternal. Your relationships will continue eternally. But worldly things, that you strive for just for empty pleasure will dissolve in your hands.

Live your life TODAY, with eternity in mind. Have the right perspective. Don’t just “seize the day” — seize eternity.

animated writing gif

Grammar Work:

I changed your grammar work this week. I just finished grading your exercise on adjectives and adverbs and the average grade for the class is a D! But I love you so I have to make sure I teach you!!! So I am going to have you review last week’s notes (they are online at the link). And I want you to look at the answers to last week’s exercise–I emailed them to your parents through quickschools. Then I want you to work on a new exercise that covers the same skills. Take your time and try not to rush through it making careless mistakes. We will move on to the appositives lesson in week 3.

Vocabulary Words:

Please copy your vocabulary words, definitions, and sentences onto a piece of paper.

  1. receding (ri≈s≤d√i«) v. used as adj.: becoming
    more distant.
    He could see the ship going away from him,
    receding in the distance.
  2. disarming (dis·ärm√i«) adj.: removing or
    lessening suspicions or fears.
    “Don’t be alarmed,” said Rainsford, with
    a smile he hoped was disarming.
  3. prolonged (pr£·lô«d√) v. used as adj.: extended.
    Zaroff’s whole life was one prolonged hunt.
  4. imprudent (im·prºd√¥nt) adj.: unwise.
    After the revolution in Russia, Zaroff left the
    country, for it was imprudent for an officer
    of the czar to stay there.
  5. surmounted(s¥r·m¡nt√id) v.: overcame.
    The general smiled the quiet smile of one
    who has faced an obstacle and surmounted
    it with success.
  6. unruffled (un·ruf√¥ld) adj.: calm; not disturbed.
    Zaroff appeared unruffled, even when Rainsford
    called him a murderer.
  7. invariably (in·ver√≤·¥·bl≤) adv.: always;
    without changing.
    Zaroff said that his captives invariably
    choose the hunt.
  8. diverting (d¥·v∞rt√i«) adj.: entertaining.
    The deadly hunt was a diverting game
    to Zaroff.
  9. impulse (im√puls≈) n.: sudden desire to do
    something.
    Rainsford had to control his impulse to run.
  10. protruding (pr£·trºd√i«) v. used as adj.:
    sticking out.
    The protruding cliffs blocked Rainsford’s
    sight of the ocean.

 

Monday:

  • Read what I wrote about about the song “This is Your Life”–Think about your perspective on life, your mortality, your need to take advantage of your todays.
  • Read Psalm 10 (above) and think about how some of these verses apply to General Zaroff.
  • Journal 3
  • Literary Terms Project (Definition of Plot and copy the Plot diagram image)
  • Read-“Hunting is the Ultimate Primal Sport“–Share your thoughts about this article in the comment section!
  • Start writing the vocabulary words and definitions for “The Most Dangerous Game” (1-4)

Tuesday:

  • Literary Terms Project (exposition-resolution)
  • Read-“Hunting is Cruel and Damaging Recreation” –Share your thoughts about this article in the comment section
  • Start Grammar Week 2 (Review the section on adjectives and adverbs, look at the answer key, and then print out and complete the new grammar activity)
  • Continue writing vocabulary words and definitions for “The Most Dangerous Game” (5-8)Image result for the most dangerous game book cover

Wednesday:

  • Finish Literary Terms Project Notes (Suspense-Unity of Action)
  • Finish Grammar Week 2
  • Finish writing vocabulary words and definitions for “The Most Dangerous Game”
  • Critical Thinking Worksheet “To Hunt or Not To Hunt” –Print out this worksheet and take a side on hunting. On the first page list all the reasons that you support or disagree with hunting. Then on the second page, anticipate three counter arguments, and then refute them (or explain why they are not good arguments). Enjoy! Do this exercise as if you are preparing for a real class debate.
  • Journal 4

Thursday:

  • Poetry of Music Song Analysis
  • Finish any work you need to finish before it is due tomorrow
  • Pack your homework.
  • Then watch the video at the bottom of this page and realize that the things I have done and said in class in the past, could fill up that whole segment! hahahahahaha!

Pack Homework:

  • Make sure you have your journal and Literary Terms notebook in your bag to bring to school tomorrow.
  • Also, pack your grammar and vocabulary words.
  • Make sure you also have the Critical Thinking Worksheet.
  • Poetry of Music Analysis

I will give you a few highlights:

  • Image result for howling coyote wood carvingSomehow I ended up with this 3 ft. tall wooden blue coyote figure in my classroom. I ended up making it my “bathroom pass” –so my students would have to carry this huge coyote around campus every time they went potty. All the teachers thought it was hilarious when they would see one of my students carrying the blue coyote to the bathroom.
  • Whenever we would walk to the library from my classroom I would make my kids walk silently, single file, with their hands at their sides. I had an engine and a caboose. The kids thought it was so funny, because they were high schoolers acting like kindergartners. The other teachers envied my control of the class–they didn’t know I did it because it was funny.
  • One time I was exercising my dry sense of humor. My class asked what I did that weekend, and I told them that I visited my mom in prison. I was totally joking. I never told them I was joking. And I forgot that I told them my mom was in prison. When they found out I spent the holidays with my mom, they were so happy, “She got out of prison!?!?” I was like???? What???? I had forgotten.
  • One time, a student went to the bathroom. I had my door open and I stepped outside and noticed that they left the blue coyote 5 feet from my door (not wanting to carry it to the bathroom). So I brought it in and hid it in a cabinet. I had the rest of the class play along. When the girl came back without the coyote, I asked her where it was. She thought it was stolen. I pretended to cry. The whole class told her how rotten it was that she didn’t take care of the coyote. We made her feel bad. Then we laughed at her. She called us mean and laughed with relief.
  • One day in class we took a survey regarding the blue coyote bathroom pass–Do you take it in the stall with you or leave it outside the door to the stall. We concluded our research with the scary truth that the coyote has seen more than we care to know about. LOLOL.
  • I used to wear fuzzy slippers in class instead of shoes.
  • I was pregnant with Emma and I craved tomatoes so bad.I used to complain to the kids about my cravings, and then they started showing up to class with tomatoes for me!!! ❤
  • One time we were reading “The Open Boat” by Stephen Crane in my honors class. And I had four kids sit on one desk, and had these strong boys pick it up off the ground and rock it violently like a mechanical bull. I told the kids they had to stay ON the desk without falling off, like the characters in the story trying to cling to the boat. They had so much fun. Honors kids don’t play enough. We died laughing.
  • At my old school the kids were big on this website called “rate my teacher” and one of the kids even brought up having to take the dog to the bathroom. LOL. They said, “She was a good and funny teacher. i was in her class in my sophmore year(2002-2003). the hard thing is i don’t like carrying dog to bathroom but she’s OK.” LOLOL
  • You can check out my rate my teacher stats at this link (I got almost 5 full stars).

There are so many other fun and funny memories. I could go on forever. I had an old student from those days get in contact with me recently. He was my student 12 years ago and all he could say was he HOPES I am still teaching. ❤ It made my day. Teaching English to high school kids is just the most fun.

29 thoughts on “Week 2–The Most Dangerous Game

  1. After reading the article I don’t seem to have much of a problem with hunting as a sport. Even before reading it, I thought hunting was a good sport. It gets food, it gets old valued human experiences, and it helps humans to adjust to unknown territory, such as places with tall grass, or many trees, etc. I personally think it’s a good idea. On the other hand, I completely understand not hunting specific animals, like ones that are going extinct. Hunting for ivory, and other expensive materials is completely different from hunting for sport. I personally would support hunting for sport.

  2. I read this article and said i am not the type for hunting but It is fascinating how much you can learn from hunting. I agree that people should hunt for sport and for learning

  3. That was a very informative & persuasive essay, but I still feel the same about hunting. I don’t think it’s right to kill animals for fun.

    1. Macey, I want to know what your brother Michael thinks. Is there any way you can talk to him (isn’t he a woodsman?) and then leave a comment letting me know what his thoughts are??? Just super curious.

      1. His exact words are: “I think hunting for sport is okay. It keeps the population down and it gets family and friends together.”
        My brother will get closer to everyone in my family but me because I do not agree with him.

  4. The article was very persuasive and informative. I think it’s okay to kill animals for food and fresh meat, especially since many people survive off of the animals (such as in Alaska). Also because you know what is going into the meat. However if they are killing animals just to have fun and to have something to do I completely disagree with that.

  5. I thought that this article was very intriguing. Killing animals for food is okay, God gave us animals. I do not agree that killing animals for fun or sport is the right thing to do. I think that people who take it to another level can cause it to become a sensation and addiction like General Zaroff and his hunting addiction.

  6. I’m okay with hunting as a sport, it’s away to live. God gave us animals to take care of and they will take care of us; by providing food, clothing, enjoying there natural beauty, and to learn about them. I believe there should be a balance so that no animal goes extinct.

  7. My opinion on the article “Hunting is the Ultimate Primal Sport” is that hunting is all right if you are doing it for food or other necessities.

  8. After reading the second article I have a little more understanding for reasons against hunting. It makes me wonder though, because in the conclusion it basically says that killing animals makes us violent, and pushes even further as to say we can end war if we stop killing animals. I can see how hunting might affect a child, because the child might conclude that it’s okay to kill. It’s a little bit different though, when we’re talking about adults. Adults (should) already know the value of life, so it’s not like they’re killing for no reason, it’s for practice; experience. By hunting with, let’s say, a bow and arrow, it’s a little less gruesome hunting than with traps and knifes. I don’t know though. There are many ways on going about this topic. I do agree however that hunting for material is wrong.

  9. This article made me think about Bambi and it is sad that people kill the poor innocent creatures. And I feel bad for the baby animals that grow up without parents then I think about the parents that don’t get to see their kids grow older. So I do think it is wrong now that I really think about it. I realize that I am really lucky to be human.

  10. My opinion on the second article is the same as the first one. I believe it’s wrong to kill for sport. I could understand killing an animal because you need food, clothing, or even because the animal is trying to harm you, but going out to kill an animal because it makes you feel superior or to have the animal as a trophy, is completely wrong.

  11. The second article was, I feel, more biased but nevertheless still informative. However I still believe that hunting is okay because some people do survive off of it as they choose to and they know what’s going into their food. But I don’t agree with killing animals for fun, to feel more powerful than the animal, and to just kill the animal to show it off in your house as if it is a prize to kill something. I do think animals have emotions and that they feel pain so I don’t think it’s okay to torture the animal in any way. And I know we need certain items from animals but I feel it’s important to not take the animal for granted and/or make it go extinct because they are a gift and privilege to have.

  12. After reading this second article, “Hunting is Cruel and Damaging Recreation”, It went more into depth on the reeasons about how hunting is a cruel sport. For example, it talks about how hunting was and still is a ritual to peolpe, and how people abuse hunting for pleasure. I still stand against hunting being a sport because of its cruel meaning behind it. The writer persuaded me by talking about peolple’s addiction to killing animals and its sensation. The end result of this article is that hunting animmals is cruelty. – Isaiah H.

  13. I believe both articles made pretty significant points, but I’m leaning towards the pro-hunting, as I felt like the anti-hunting was like “Do this instead of this. See? There’s an alternative.” and whatnot.

  14. I do agree with hunting for sport, just as long as it’s not abused. We have authority over animals that God has put on the earth for our use. If we put our emotions aside we would understand that animals are not equal to humans.Muder is killing people killing animals is hunting,which is a way of life. We have been given animals for useful purposes including: clothing, decoration, sport and food (so I can bulk up). 😉

  15. The first article was very informative. It really opened my eyes and made me realize that hunting is more than just killing an animal, it’s a lifestyle for many people. I never knew that hunting could build so much character. Before reading this article, I felt that hunting for food was okay but hunting for sport was not okay, and I still feel that way.

  16. The second article made it seem like all hunting is bad and that all hunters are bad, but I do not see it that way. There were some points that the author made that I agree with such as the belief that poaching animals is wrong, but there were some points that I didn’t agree with, one being the belief that hunting animals for food is bad. With the times now, it’s really hard to find meat that hasn’t been polluted by chemicals, so I believe that hunting for food is a good thing because it’s healthy. After reading this article, I stick with my belief that hunting for food is ok but hunting for sport is not.

  17. After reading the first article, I felt that hunting can be a great thing for everyone, as long as there are specific rules. I believe it can be great fun and educational for all people. While hunting, you can study many different animals. In this day and age, we barely come into contact with any wild animals, so hunting can be a way that you can experience the beauty of nature.

  18. After reading the second article, I found that I did not agree with most of the things that I had read. I do not think hunting endangered animals is right, but I do think that hunting is okay to do. I also think that hunting should only be done if it is a challenge. I believe that capturing an animal, releasing it, and killing it is wrong. That is not hunting, that is a person killing an animal for fun.

  19. Well after the first article I agree it’s a ok thing to hunt it’s good excersise, it gives you a deeper respect and wonder for Gods creatures and wild life, and it’s a good way to get good healthy food that hasn’t been touched by corporations adding preservatives and gmos and all that junk, but of course as long as your hunting legally non-endangered animals.

  20. Although the second article makes a lot of good points such as we don’t need to hunt for food anymore because of the farms and the food that they give us though this is true but these farms feed their animals and do things to the meat that is un-natural and bad for your body and the way they treat these animals is cruel. I still feel that hunting is ok as long as your hunting within the law and maintain a healthy respect and love for these animals, and don’t hunt endangered animals

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

