Another Year–Elements of Literary Analysis

This will be my fourth year using this blog for CVCA English classes. If you scroll down below you will see all of our old British Literature assignments. If you scroll even farther, you will see all of our old American Literature assignments. And if you scroll even farther back, you will see all of our old Shakespeare and Romeo and Juliet class assignments. It is kind of nice to look back and see how much we have learned together. We have so many great memories, and I can’t wait to make some more!

This year, we are going to slow it down and dig deep.

Course Description

This class will be a standard genre based Language Arts class. Students will read, comprehend, and analyze various forms of writing. The class will be broken into 4 units: Short Stories, Poetry, Drama, and the Novel. Each unit will connect the literature to current events, news articles, and Christian doctrine where appropriate. Students will learn the definitions of literary terms, and use those terms to analyze themes, characterization, and figurative and connotative language. Students will learn to write a literary analysis, and an argumentative essay. This class will meet during the week a few times during the school year, for guided reading instruction and reader’s theater.  This class will also meet Common Core State Standards.

Featured Literature– Oscar Wilde’s hilarious play, The Importance of Being Earnest, Ray Bradbury’s futuristic dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451, Edgar Allan Poe’s creepy story, “Cask of Amontillado,” and Richard Connell’s suspenseful thriller,  “The Most Dangerous Game.” We will also study poetry from the greatest poets, such as Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost, E.E. Cummings, T.S. Eliot, Pablo Neruda, Sylvia Plath, Langston Hughes, Simon J. Ortiz, and William Shakespeare.

I am excited about the coursework (I always am). One of the things that I think you will like, especially the boys, is that there is a science fiction and a suspense component to our literature this year. I also KNOW that you will enjoy the play we are going to read; it is one of the funniest plays ever written. Funny and genius.
It is going to be a great year!

Books

I want to let you know that as far as the books go, I am going to do something different this year–this year I am going to ask you to allow me to purchase your books.

The last 2 years have been a nightmare regarding books for several reasons:

  • Often times when you go to order the book you accidentally order the wrong version. This happened a quite few times last few years and it actually was a huge pain in the neck.  We have also had times where everyone is reading a slightly different story. It doesn’t work out well.
  • Other times when I go to actually teach the book, half of the class hasn’t ordered the book yet (despite me reminding them repeatedly). Which makes it difficult for the student and for class discussion.
  • I have also had parents order the book so far ahead of time that they have forgotten where they placed it!!! I totally relate to this!!! Last year I lost my first copy of Hamlet with all my teaching notes!!!

I actually can’t remember one time in the last few years when all the students had the right book on time, when started to read a new book. So this year, I am going to just order the books for you. I will get them for a discounted price. This will guarantee that you get the correct book, a good price, that they arrive on time, and they do not get lost.

Please let me know if you have any questions. God bless you!!!

 

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

