No LATE Oral Presentations

I know a couple of you are planning on turning in your essays late. BUT, I cannot allow you to do your Oral Presentations late. It just won’t work with our schedule. So even if you are going to turn in your essay next week, you still need to do your presentation this week. The ONLY exception will be for Tristan (since he wanted to do it last week and I told him to hold off).

So, Oral Presentations will be this Friday, May 8 ONLY

Your Final Draft and Business Letters are also due this week.

I will only accept late essays next week, but you will lose 30% of your points because it is late. 

Your journals and grammar books are also due NEXT Friday. 

I will not accept any work after that. 

If you have any questions please let me know.

Business Letter

If you need more help, please go to the Purdue Online Writing Lab

  • Be consice. Don’t give them a 5 page essay. Stick to the main point and some reasons and important facts.
  • Address your essay to a logical recipient. Don’t send an essay about body image to Pastor David. Don’t send an essay about doctor assisted suicide to Jordan Pate.
  • Make sure that you have correct formatting
  • Bring a stamped envelope so we can mail it after I grade it

The Oral Presentation

  • Dress professionally
  • Bring a visual aide
  • Feel free to use note cards (you may not read off your essay)
  • Speak clearly and seriously for 3-5 minutes (don’t be too funny, this is a formal presentation not the improv)
  • Present your facts and move your audience towards your persuasive goal–make us agree with you and take action!

The Final Draft

You should be pretty close to finished now.

  • Read the essay OUT LOUD to your parents and LISTEN to their feedback
  • Have one of your parents proofread your essay for mechanical errors
  • Make sure your Works Cited page is perfect
  • Check your MLA format
  • Ask yourself, are you persuading your reader? Or just spewing facts?
18 thoughts on “No LATE Oral Presentations

  1. HI Mrs. Brandi, I was just wondering if you recieved my e-mails. Isaiah has a really bad cold, and he cant go out in this weather. Can you make an exeption for me for the Oral Presentation? I wont be able to be their tommorow. My mom will be able to drop of my work tommorow at school. Thank you, God Bless.

  2. So far, Tristan, Alexis, Macey and Samantha are not presenting tomorrow. That leaves Lilly, Kayley, Christahn, Nait, Matthew, and maybe Elisabeth.

    I just can’t guarantee that we will have time for a bunch of kids to make up their presentations the last two weeks of school. You might just have to miss it. Sometimes that’s the way it goes.

    1. Samantha, when your mom comes to drop off your stuff, have her get a handout from me. It is a small packet from a book by Tozer with some questions at the end. 🙂 That way you have it!!!

  3. I’m still going to make my visual aid JUST in case someone can take me, but I had a question. I wanted to put a picture kind of representing what the Dove campaign is all about, but the only pictures I find are women only wearing undergarments. I know that there are young men in the class and we are at church, so I wouldn’t be able to use a photo like that, correct?

    1. I don’t think it would be too bad as long as it isn’t some huge banner that they can ogle. We all see commercial advertisments and it isn’t indescent. I think most Dove ads are women in granny panties and tank tops right? I mean it isn’t as flashy as the Victoria’s Secret ad is it? Ask your momma 🙂 But I think Dove ads are not risque.

        1. Oh my goodness! ~ That’s awesome. You should make a blog post about it. You could possibly even write a letter to the President. ~ “Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.” (1 Timothy 4:12) ~ “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13)

  4. Tristan I am so proud of you!!! High Five!!!!

    You are a powerful American exercising your influence!!!!

    You are a bird spreading your wings and soaring over the White House.

    You are peanut butter bursting through the chocolate layer of a Reeces.

    Way to go!!! I signed the petition and I will pass it along.

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

