Finish In His Steps and Work On Your Short Story and Quote Yourself Projects

Please finish the book In His Steps this week. I want you to put three of the most important quotes in the book in the comment section below. You will have another test on the book when we return to school. But your quotes are due this Friday, February 20.

Continue working on your Quote Yourself Project. I want good quotes. Stuff that you want people to talk about when you are no longer with us. This is due February 27

You also will need to email me your rough draft to your Short Stories by this Friday, February 20.

Keep working on your grammar books.

If you have any questions, let me know.

56 thoughts on “Finish In His Steps and Work On Your Short Story and Quote Yourself Projects

  1. Hooray! A breezy week with a light work load. I was getting so antsy every day because I did nothing but sit down and read all day and, when I was finally done, I had to eat dinner and go to bed. I mean, sure, it’s fun to read and don’t get me wrong, I love reading, but the Notgrass curriculum is out of it’s mind! Why in the world would it assign a big literary book in one week on top of many other subjects and assignments?!

    Thank you, Mrs. Brandi, for having some common sense, unlike the publishers of the Notgrass American History books, and not making us read the entire thing in a week! ❤ GOD. BLESS. YOU. ❤

        1. I thought so lol but not because of the name, because of the owl. Lol she looks like a cute little owl to me! 😀

  2. A quote from Brandi: “You also will need to email my your rough draft to your Short Stories by this Friday, February 20.” This is a rare sighting of the English teacher being out of it… Hit the (Abeka) books Brandi!!! Lol 😛 I’m just bringing it up because i thought it was funny

      1. She said “Send MY your rough draft,” instead of “Send ME your rough draft”

        I had to read it over a few times just to find out what Tristan found so funny.

        1. Don’t sweat it! ;D This is your rough draft. You might be doing run-on sentances or are too descriptive. Try to pinpoint everything as quickly as possible, but not to the extent where you are illiterate and under descriptive.
          You don’t want, “Clara’s tail swished vibrantly as she thrust her way through the crowd, attempting to steal one of the award-winning black berry pies.” to turn into “Clara wagged her tail and walked through some people to get to the pies.”
          You also don’t want it to turn in to “Clara, a black and white border collie who had blue eyes and a pink tongue, swished her long, bushy tail vibrantly and hard as she pushed her way through a crowd of people, who all had blue and green shirts, in order to steal some of the award-winning black berry pies at the LA County Fair because her stomach growled with an immense roar of hunger for award-winning black berry pies.”
          It is hard to write a story. I find myself having to take my entire, long paragraph that I had written (which is usually half a page long and contains information about one, indirect, unimportant scene) and snip it down to one sentence and put it into another paragraph. If you need help, let me know! I’ll try not to go on an overly long discourse like I just did!
          ❤ U!

  3. I cannot interpret the probable action of Jesus until I know better what His Spirit is. The greatest question in all of human life is summed up when we ask, ‘What would Jesus do?’ If we also try to answer it from a growth in knowledge of Jesus Himself. We must know Jesus before we can imitate Him.
    -Henry Maxwell-In His Steps

    The whole quote is good, but the last sentence is the best part ^•^

      1. Kayley I absolutely love reading your comments! They make me laugh so much!! You are such a blessing to me and to our class 😀 I love you! ❤

        1. Awww~ Same to you there, sister! You are the funniest, sweetest, most joyful, most caring, most loving, most beautiful, most awesome, most terrific, most cupcake-worthy, most happiest, most funniest, most motherly, most faithful, most graceful, most- okay you get the picture! haha ❤ I am so joyful and blessed to have you in my life. I love you so much, Macey! Keep on being awesome for God ~ ❤

  4. Must Jesus bear the cross alone
    And all the world go free?
    No, there’s a cross for everyone,
    And there’s a cross for me.
    – In His Steps.
    Ahh Brandi I love this book so much 😀

  5. “He would like to follow Jesus, but not if he had to give so much.” –In His Steps

    “If men followed Him regardless of the results of the world would at once begin a new life.” –In His Steps

    And of course,

    “We must know Jesus before we can imitate Him.” –In His Steps

  6. “The greatest question in all of human life is summed up when we ask,’What would Jesus do?'”

    “We must know Jesus before we can imitate Him”

    “He impressed me, as did all the other disciples in this movement, as having fought out some hard questions, and as having taken up some real burdens that have caused and still do cause that suffering of which Henry Maxwell speaks, a suffering that does not eliminate, but does appear to intensify, a positive and practical joy.”

  7. ~Top three quotes
    “After we have asked the Spirit to tell us what Jesus would do and have received an answer to it, we are to act regardless of the results to ourselves. Is that understood?”

    “I know what this will mean to you and to me. It will mean the complete change of very many habits. It will mean, possibly, social loss. It will mean, in some cases, loss of money. It will mean sacrifice. It will probably mean what following Jesus meant in the first century, and then it meant suffering, hardship, separation from everything non-Christian. What does Jesus mean today? The test of discipleship is the same now as then.”

    “Must Jesus bear the cross alone
    And all the world go free?
    No, there’s a cross for everyone,
    And there’s a cross for me.”

    ~Additional quotes
    “She had never philosophized about the causes of human misery. She was not old enough; she had not the temperament. But she felt intensely – and this was not the first time she had felt – the contrast between the upper and the lower conditions of life.”

    “Now in my church, it would be a rather difficult matter, I fear, to find very many people who would take a pledge like that and live up to it. Martyrdom is a lost art with us. Our Christianity loves its ease and comfort too well to take up anything so rough and heavy as a cross. And yet what does Jesus mean? What is it to walk in His steps?”

    “I cannot interpret the probable action of Jesus until I know better what His Spirit is. The greatest question in all of human life is summed up when we ask, ‘What would Jesus do?’ If we also try to answer it from a growth in knowledge of Jesus Himself. We must know Jesus before we can imitate Him.”

  8. The three quotes I think are the best are: “We must know Jesus before we can imitate Him.”
    “If men followed Him regardless of the results of the world would at once begin a new life.”
    “The greatest question in all of human life is summed up when we ask,’What would Jesus do?’”

  9. 1. “But I was wondering, as I sat here in church this morning, if what you call followingJesus is the same thing as what He taught. What did he mean when He said, ‘Follow me’?”

    2.”I know very well. She is an outcast. You need not tell me, Grandmother. She is drunk at this minute. But she is also a child of God. I have seen her on her knees in repentance. And i have seen hell reach out its fingers after her again. By the grace of Christ, I feel theta the least I can do is to rescue her from this. Grandmother, we call ourselves Christians. Here is a poor, lost creature without a home, slipping back into a life of misery and we have more than enough. I have brought her here and I shall keep her.”

    3. He was moved with unspeakable pity. “Pray, Burns. Pray as you never prayed before. Nothing else will save you.” “O God, save me!” cried Burns. “Oh, save me from my hell!” And the bishop knelt by him in the hall and prayed with him.

  10. Is it true, that the church of today, the church that is called after Christ’s own name, would refuse to follow Him at the expense of suffering, of physical loss, of temporary gain?
    -Henry Maxwell.
    This book was so good ❤

  11. “‘Do you mean, Grandmother, that we cannot possibly act as our Lord would, or do you mean that if we try to, we shall offend the customs and prejuduces of society?'”

    “Society is not my God.”

    “‘ As I understand the promise we made, we were not to ask any questions about “Will it pay?” but all our action was to be based on the question, “What would Jesus do?””

  12. The three most important quotes in the book are:

    “But I was wondering, as I sat here in the church thiis morning, if what you call following Jesus is the same thing as what he taught. What did He mean when He said,’Follow me’?”
    -Charles M. Sheldon

    How much hace we denied ouselves or given of our personal ease and pleasure to bless the place we live or imitate the life of the Saviour of the world? Are we always going to go on as society selfishly dictates, moving on its narrow little round of pleasures and entertianmentw and never knowing the pain of things that cost?
    -Charles M. Sheldon

    Then he uttered with great difficulty the words,”You have been good to me. Somehow I feel as if it was what Jesus would do.”After a fewmoments he turned his head slightly, and before Henry maxwell could realize the fact, the doctor said quietly,”He’s gone.”

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

