Week 20–In His Steps by Charles Sheldon, The Short Story Project, and The Quote Yourself Project :)

This week we are going to begin In His Steps, by Charles Sheldon. This book is sooooo good!!! I read it last year just for fun. In fact, it was a gift from Kari Saunders (<3 I miss her).

What does it really mean to be a Christian? In His Steps was the first to ask “What would Jesus do? and quickly became one of the best-selling books of all times. A classic Christian novel. “I want volunteers from First Church who will pledge themselves, earnestly and honestly, for an entire year; not to do anything without first asking the question, ‘What would Jesus do?'” The town Reverend never dreamed that among those who responded would be the most influential members of his congregation. Together they pledged themselves to a new step of faith that would change, not just a handful of people, but an entire town-for good.

Not only will this book deepen your understanding of what it was like to live during this time period, it will also challenge your walk with God, and possibly change your life.

Our curriculum wants us to read it in one week, but that is ridiculous.

Go ahead and read Chapters 1-12 (page 5-124). I know that is a lot of pages, but just thank me that I didn’t say to read it all this week. What will work in your favor is that it is very easy to read, so it won’t take as long as Uncle Tom’s Cabin. Please plan on reading at least 30-40 pages a day.

You will also need to get back to work in your grammar books; the sooner you finish, the sooner you’re done. And we will have some new journals this week. Yay!

Other than that, make sure you bring your books to class on Friday with “Brandi Notes” (I will check).

Your extra credit assignment (the Ray Comfort Video) will be due NEXT Friday. It is a good way to give your grade some cushion this semester.

I am also assigning some projects this week.

Start working on them now!!! 🙂

22 thoughts on “Week 20–In His Steps by Charles Sheldon, The Short Story Project, and The Quote Yourself Project :)

      1. If you are using the kindle, just use the highlight option! That is fine!!! If they can just bring it to class, that would be good. As far as page numbers go, don’t worry about it, since the page numbers are so different on kindles. Does that work?

    1. OH MY GOODNESS . . .

      So I clicked on the link and began to watch the video. I guess I wasn’t expecting that. But then, lo and behold Dustin creeps into the office behind me as I am sitting here quietly staring at that video and he says, “What the HECK are you watching?”

      I was embarrassed.

      So I blamed you.

      I said, “Tristan told me to watch this!”

      Hahahaha

    1. I downloaded it on the Kindle for free for now and told them they can just choose a highlight color and either make notes on the Kindle or on a separate sheet of paper indicating chapter and perhaps page number. If I order the books today, it will still be a couple days before it arrives. Being that it was about 40 pages a day, I didn’t want to take chances and have them wait any longer. Let me know how you would like me to go about making sure they receive credit this week.

      1. No problem, that will work out fine. If they can bring it to class that would be easy for me to check it and if they can read along. But if not, you can check it for me, and I will just give them the credit and they can share someone else’s book in class.

  1. How many pages does your book have? You said to do 30 pages a day, but if I read to chapter 12 its barely 60 pages. My book only has 134 pages total. I’m really confused and frustrated :/

    1. It’s simple: You can either finish the book in three days, or you could finish it in four days. If you wanted to finish it sooner and chose three days, you can divide 12 (number of chapters) by 3 (number of days to finish it). Your answer is 4 chapters per day. If you wanted to finish it later and take your time and chose four days, divide 12 (number of chapters) by 4 (number of days). Your answer comes out to 3 chapters per day. ❤

  2. So far, so good! I love “In His Steps”! It is vivid and brings thorough conviction on me. I seldom ask the question, “What would Jesus do?” I want that to be the one and only thing I think / say / speak / dream.

    Even before I posted this comment, I thought:
    What would Jesus do?

    I’m up to chapter 4. If it is used by God that much and changes lives that effectively, I cannot wait to see what else God has in store! ❤

    1. First off, you can’t let something thats not alive, die. Second, yes you should. I like reading about bad stuff that happens to you, its funny. 😀 As long as its something minor, like your chick-fal-a sauce. If it were something major, I would feel bad.

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

