Week 19–Mark Twain

I am so sorry that I am late getting your work to you this week!!! I am sure you were all excitedly waiting to get into your English studies this morning! 🙂

Anyways, here you go . . .

Please leave a comment for each story this week (30 points)

Monday–Remember when we read James Fenimore Cooper in class? Go back over that and look at it for a second, then read “Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offences.” It begins with Twain quoting positive reviews of Cooper’s work, but he then goes into all the reasons he has for why the Cooper stories are stupid. This is wonderful stuff you guys. If you ever feel like writing a short story or novel, please follow this advice 😉

Tuesday– “A Literary Nightmare” (pg. 16) and “How To Tell a Story” (pg. 70)

Wednesday– “Journalism in Tennessee” and “The Notorious Jumping frog of Calaveras County” ❤ Now the key to the humor in this story is the very first paragraph. So when you finish it, go back and read the first paragraph. And then think that this idea that Simon Wheeler’s story is a waste of time is the funny part . . . it is!!! And the fact that we can all relate to being in a similar situation, where we are being polite and listening to some slightly odd elder person drone on and on. In fact, I have a grandfather who used to tell these long stories. Sometimes I didn’t know if he was being funny or serious, so I would giggle just to be polite. When I read this story to myself, Simon Wheeler’s voice sounds a lot like my grandfather.

Thursday–Go back over “Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offenses” I want it to be fresh in your mind for class tomorrow. And then read “Journalism in Tennessee”

EXTRA CREDIT– INSTEAD of reading Ray Comforts book. Please watch the 20 minute video below 🙂 Then type a one page summary with what you learned and what you think about this topic. The sound is a little weird, but this is extra credit so deal with it!!! LOL 🙂

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/115581098″>Ray Comfort talks about Mark Twain: A Christian Response to His Battle With God</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/afanet”>American Family Association</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

46 thoughts on “Week 19–Mark Twain

  1. Okay, my mom made me read ahead last week. Today’s reading is the only chapter I haven’t read so I’ll do it tomorrow. I’ll do Tuesday today! (: I liked “A Literary Nightmare” I think the beginning chorus was funny. I lol-ed. I also like the title because I never thought about a “literary nightmare” but it makes sense. It made me think of a “musical nightmare” but for literature. I thought that was cool. I also liked “How to Tell a Story”. I pondered on the first few sentences. Like, he knows how a story should be told but doesn’t claim he can tell one. I also thought that him explaining the several types of stories was cool.

  2. When you said “Remember when we read James Fenimore Cooper in class?”, was it the week me and my brother couldn’t go to Friday school that one week, or at least when I wasn’t there? I don’t remember reading anybody with the first name “James”, in class at least. I do remember reading something about “Offences”, but I believe it was a different person.

  3. I read “Fenimoore Cooper’s Literary Offenses” and thought it was funny. My favorite part was when he mentions Cooper’s use of the dry twig, and says the series should be called the broken twig series. When I read that part I read it thinking Twain said it sarcastic and sassy! I didn’t laugh out loud but it was still funny 🙂

  4. I like “Fenimoore Cooper’s Literary Offenses” . I chuckled quite a few times. I laughed when Mark Twain was saying that the people who liked Fenimoore’s work should read it before they talk about it. Also, that all the people who liked his work are all dead now. lol 🙂

  5. OH MY GOODNESS!!! ‘A Literary Nightmare’ was so trippy!! Its probably my favorite so far. this is probably how I feel when I get a really annoying but catchy Taylor Swift song stuck in my head lol 😀

  6. “HOW TO TELL A STORY” was funny! ~ I enjoyed ‘The Golden Arm’ and ‘The Military Soldier’ and it’s inputs on what to do and when (pause for dramatic effect) HE TOLD ME IT WAS HIS ARM! ~ AHAHA! XD

  7. I finished reading ‘How to Tell a Story’ and thought it was good. I liked ‘The Golden Arm’, i thought it was cool and the writing style reminded me of Uncle Toms Cabin. I definitely enjoy these stories more then the ones last week.

  8. In “Fenimoore Cooper’s Literary Offenses” why did he violate so many literary rules? It kind of confuses me. Maybe he was looking to write the most unique and strange story? Who knows o-o

    1. It’s because Mark Twain despised what Fenimoore Cooper had written! I can see all of the literary violations, seeing Fenimoore DID go on and on about twigs, indians missing boats, and was unrealistic. I guess Mark Twain thought it was unrealistic to an extent that bugged him…?

  9. I liked that rhyme in “A Literary Nightmare” that went like “Conductor, when you receive a fare, Punch in the presence of the passenjare” I looked up what “passenjare” meant, and I didn’t find anything right off the bat about what the meaning of it was.

  10. “Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offences.” –
    So, this chapter was about Mark just going on about how lame an author is? I guess that’s fine…

    “A Literary Nightmare” –
    I wouldn’t blame them. The rhyme can be catchy, but it depends on how you say it in your head.

    “How To Tell a Story” –
    I never realized that in comics: they always use caps or put many !’s in a comic. I guess you can say, I MADE A COMIC (comment)!!! *burst out laughing because it wasn’t funny”.

  11. “The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” was, by far, my favorite story! I don’t know why, but I like it when people ramble aimlessly. I guess I just like listening.

  12. “Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offenses”, by Mark Twain was an interesting review on Cooper’s literature. Mark Twain starts this review on Cooper’s literature with positive comments by professors. For example, one professor stated that Cooper’s literature had slight defects and was a work of art. Twain then argues that Cooper’s literature was no work of art, and had more than a few defects in it. Mark Twain proves his argument by addressing Cooper’s characters, conversations in Cooper books,scenes in Deerslayer, and Cooper’s word-sense in his literature. Through this review, I gained a lot of knowledge on how to correctly write a novel or short story.

    In Mark Twain’s “A Literary Nightmare”,he writes about a humorous story about a catchy jingle that just won’t leave his head after reading it. This jingle then gets stuck in his friend’s head as well. In order to help his friend, Twain takes him to a university to get rid of the jingle by repeating it to the students, who now have it stuck in their heads as well. It was very interesting, and it shows us that words can have a huge influence; even if they are just a jingle.

    “How to Tell a Story” by Mark Twain, was an informative essay on the differences and origins between the comical, witty, and humorous story. He reveals the different techniques that are used in each type of story by the story teller as well. Twain then goes on to explain that anybody can tell the comical, but only a true artist can tell the humorous kind.

  13. “Journalism in Tennessee” and “The Notorious Jumping frog of Calaveras County” were okay. I got bored here and there but then again when it comes to stories I’m hard to be amused. lol But out of the two stories I liked “The Notorious Jumping frog of Calaveras County” the best because I followed along better and understood it more than “Journalism in Tennessee”. (:

  14. Journalism in Tennessee was interesting. It actually kind of scared me. Like seriously! This editor guy is working on an article, when all a sudden, this other guy barges in with a gun ready to shoot him! And after that he says calmly, “I’m going to dinner so heres a list of people I want you to hurt or kill”
    This guy is abnormal :/

  15. I find it weird that they actually made a story on how to tell a story. I fell discombobulated. I also found a new word today in “How to Tell a Story”; it’s “soliloquize”, which means “to talk to ones self.”

  16. “Journalism in Tennessee” –
    I found this story to be… random, I guess. All of the sudden, a guy throws a brick through the window, a guy holding a rifle comes in and has a shoot out… and the bullets just so happens to hit Mark Twain… Okay.

    “The Notorious Jumping frog of Calaveras County” –
    I didn’t really see the humor until I read your whole post and now it makes sense… I don’t get why he told the story. I was like ‘This’ll be interesting’, two minutes later: ‘Uhh…’

  17. I think that the quote from “Journalism in Tennessee” that said “Thunder and lightning! Do you suppose I am going to speak of those cattle that way? Do you suppose my subscribers are going to stand such gruel as that? Give me the pen!” was my favorite (humor wise). I have no idea why but I pictured this overweight guy with a fiery red face screaming “GIVE ME THE PEN!!”

  18. “The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” was definitely a lot funnier. The fact that I can picture most of it and actually relate to some of it helped indefinitely.

  19. “The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” was really funny. In the beginning I was bored but the end part was funny how he lost the bet. I should read this to my brother, since he doesn’t see the harm in betting (I’ll show him 😉 )

  20. “How To Tell a Story” This one is my favorite, not only does it totally show how the way you tell a story makes a difference but what the story’s about and how is Americans have our own way of telling stories. I love what he said about the pauses, and how he compared the comic story to only European countries.

    “Journalism in Tennessee” Wow, what can I say. I like how Mark Twain had these stories where the most outlandish events ensue and the characters walk away as if nothing out of the ordinary had just occurred. Favorite lines “Southern hospitality is too lavish with the stranger.” And “Tennessee journalism is too stirring for me.”

    “The Notorious Jumping frog of Calaveras County” I’m not sure exactly what was weighing down the frog but it was funny story and how Smiley training a frog, like c’mon who does that? And the suspense of just almost finishing the story was a nice tough as well.

  21. In“The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County”,it was nice to read this humorous tale set in the west. In this tale, Twain illustrates the differences between the Eastern and Western country cultures through the characters Simon Wheeler and the Narrator. It was interesting to see how Twain chose to name the frog Daniel Webster and the bulldog Andrew Jackson. This tale did have a moral behind it as well.

    In “Journalism In Tennessee”,Twain illustrates the life of a journalist in Tennessee, and had much humor. Though it is fictional, I believe Mark Twain shed some truth behind Tennesseean journalism in this story.

  22. /
    .7
    \ , //
    |\.–._/|//
    /\ ) ) ).’/
    /( \ // /
    /( J`((_/ \
    / ) | _\ /
    /|) \ eJ L
    | \ L \ L L
    / \ J `. J L
    | ) L \/ \
    / \ J (\ /
    _….___ | \ \ \“`
    ,.._.-‘ ”’–…-||\ -. \ \
    .’.=.’ ` `.\ [ Y
    / / \] J
    Y / Y Y L
    | | | \ | L
    | | | Y A J
    | I | /I\ /
    | \ I \ ( |]/|
    J \ /._ / -tI/ |
    L ) / /’——-‘J `’-:.
    J .’ ,’ ,’ , \ `’-.__ \
    \ T ,’ ,’ )\ /| ‘;’—7 /
    \| ,’L Y…-‘ / _.’ / \ / /
    J Y | J .’-‘ / ,–.( /
    L | J L -‘ .’ / | /\
    | J. L J .-;.-/ | \ .’ /
    J L`-J L____,.-‘` | _.-‘ |
    L J L J “ J |
    J L | L J |
    L J L \ L \
    | L ) _.’\ ) _.’\
    L \(‘` \ (‘` \
    ) _.’\`-….’ `-….’
    (‘` \
    `-.___/

    There’s your unicorn lol

  23. ,,))))))));,
    __)))))))))))))),
    \|/ -\(((((””((((((((.
    -*-==//////((” . `)))))),
    /|\ ))| o ;-. ‘((((( ,(,
    ( `| / ) ;))))’ ,_))^;(~
    | | | ,))((((_ _____——~~~-. %,;(;(>’;’~
    o_); ; )))(((` ~—~ `:: \ %%~~)(v;(`(‘~
    ; ””““ `: `:::|\,__,%% );`’; ~
    | _ ) / `:|`—-‘ `-‘
    ______/\/~ | / /
    /~;;.____/;;’ / ___–,-( `;;;/
    / // _;______;’——~~~~~ /;;/\ /
    // | | / ; \;;,\
    (
    \_| ||_ //~;~~~~~~~~~
    `\_| (,~~
    \~\
    ~~
    Hopefully this one works

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

