Week 18–This Week We Start Mark Twain And We Have A Break From School This Friday

So, this week we are going to start reading Mark Twain’s Humorous Stories and Sketches.  Mark Twain is best known for writing the beloved novels, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I am reading them to the girls right now; between his writing style and the antics of these ornery boys, my girls love the stories.

I am so excited to read some of his stories with you! Mark Twain cracks me up and makes me smile! If I was at a wedding reception, and Mark Twain was a guest, I would want to sit right next to him so that I could laugh at all the things he would say, all evening long. He would give back handed compliments. He would make witty remarks. He would be so delightful. I would just be afraid to speak, lest I give him an opportunity to joke about me!!! LOL.

“It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.” –Mark Twain 🙂

Mark Twain’s humor is smart, it is witty, and it is dry.

To succeed in life, you need two things: ignorance and confidence. - Mark Twain
Hahahaha!!!!! I am rolling on the ground!!!! So funny!!!! I love it!!!!!!

Assignments: 

1.) Check out the Mark Twain Bio—FYI, Mark Twain’s real name is Samuel Clemens. Please click on the link to biography channels bio on his life, read the information and watch the short video 🙂

Remembering Mark Twain

2.) Read the stories I am assigning you this week, and leave a comment for each one.

The Notgrass curriculum doesn’t start these stories until next week, but I don’t want you to have to read the whole book in one week, so this week we will read some of the stories, and next week we will read the rest.

This Weeks Stories:

  • “About Barbers” Pg. 13-15
  • “The Stolen White Elephant” pg 21-39
  • “The Private History of a Campaign that Failed” pg. 40-58

Please leave a comment after each story 🙂 I want to see what you think. Next week we will read the rest of the stories. I am delighted.

“It is by the goodness of God that in our country we have those three unspeakably precious things: freedom of speech, freedom of conscience, and the prudence never to practice either of them.” —Mark Twain

Also, please go and read some of his quotes and also leave a comment below telling me which one you liked best. I am sure you will enjoy his more than most we have looked at this year.

Fun Fact: Ray Comfort Is Interested In Mark Twain? yes!

What I find interesting is that Ray Comfort recently published a book about Mark Twain’s spiritual beliefs and apparent atheism. I kind of wonder why? I mean, Ray Comfort is a busy man!!! He writes books about evangelism; he spends all of his time sharing his faith with unbelievers. Why would he spend years studying, then many months writing a book about a famous literary figure? Does he have some admiration or affection for Mark Twain? I am so intrigued; I am quite thrilled! Did you notice that semicolon? Ray Comfort thought this was important work. I do too!!! Especially since many atheists use Mark Twain’s quotes to back up their beliefs. I am so interested to read this book.

Here is the description:

From the pages of a long-hidden manuscript written by a man filled with disappointment and anger, you will discover the truth about Mark Twain’s embittered battle with God!

  • Evidence in his work that proves he wasn’t an atheist
  • Selections from his letters and popular works that reveal his confused faith
  • Perspectives from Twain on God that echo modern criticism and doubts.

Twain was a very popular and gifted speaker with a carefully cultivated image. Few knew he secretly wrote a manuscript complaining bitterly about the God of the Bible, citing hypocrisy and cruelties, like there would be no sex in heaven. Twain decided to have his book published 100 years after his death in the hope that society would then be open-minded enough to listen.

Ray Comfort searches through volumes of Twain’s writings to develop a comprehensive answer to this profound writer of the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and a man who suffered much. Discover Twain’s arguments with God and a powerful response that helps strengthen your faith and understanding of our loving Creator!

Anyways, have a good week. Enjoy your reading. I know I will 🙂

“Wrinkles should merely indicate where the smiles have been.”
Mark Twain

44 thoughts on “Week 18–This Week We Start Mark Twain And We Have A Break From School This Friday

  1. “Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.”
    ― Mark Twain
    “But who prays for Satan? Who, in eighteen centuries, has had the common humanity to pray for the one sinner that needed it most?”
    ― Mark Twain
    “Life is short, Break the Rules.
    Forgive quickly…
    Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably
    And never regret ANYTHING
    That makes you smile.”
    ― Mark Twain

  2. I just finished reading “About Barbers” ! It was great! 😄 I think the thing I loved and couldn’t get over the most was the fact that he chose Barbers. It starts, “ALL THINGS CHANGE except barbers…” 👍😄👌 I would’ve never thought of that! But it’s true! Barbers never change 😂

  3. I finished reading “About Barbers” and thought it was okay. I could find his witty remarks quite easily, and it was funny, I just didn’t laugh out loud. My favorite part would have to be when he said the barber died and he was waiting for revenge- and would attend his funeral.

  4. “Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Never tell the truth to people who are not worthy of it.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Reader, suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself.”
    ― Mark Twain. This one I find really funny! 😀

    God created war so that Americans would learn geography.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “I did not attend his funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Part of the secret of success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside.”
    ― Mark Twain

    I may or may not like all of his quotes :/ I know, I have waaayy too many favorites.

  5. “When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years.” Mark Twain

    Name the greatest of all inventors. Accident.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Kindness is a language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.”
    ― Mark Twain

    The worst loneliness is to not be comfortable with yourself.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”

    “It is curious that physical courage should be so common in the world and moral courage so rare.”
    ― Mark Twain

    looooooove this guy!!!!

  6. “Go to heaven for the climate and hell for the company.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.”
    ― Mark Twain
    “Reader, suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself.”
    ― Mark Twain
    “Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.”
    ― Mark Twain
    “I did not attend his funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.”
    ― Mark Twain
    “I do not fear death. I had been dead for billions and billions of years before I was born, and had not suffered the slightest inconvenience from it.”
    ― Mark Twain

  7. I just finished reading “The Stolen White Elephant” My favorite part was when he was describing what the Elephant eats. Men and bibles… Uhhh, okay! 😬😳😄

  8. I just finished The Stolen White Elephant. I didn’t find it all that funny :/ I only thought the part where they described the elephant was funny, not nothing made me laugh. Just because it wasn’t funny, doesn’t mean I didn’t like it though. I overall enjoyed it as a story.

  9. I just finished reading The Private History of a Campaign That Failed, and I thought it was boring :/ It was interesting at some parts, such as the part when he discusses the time when he thought he shot an innocent man. But other than that I wasn’t very interested 😛

  10. I loved the Stolen White Elephant:) and I loved the description of the elephant. Its my favorite of the ones we read. The Private History of a Campaign That Failed was kind of dull. About Barbers was pretty good.

  11. “All About Barbers”: This had a pretty dark ending but it was pretty funny reading the guy’s experience with the barber he didn’t really like. Is it true that a barber shop never changes? I never really paid attention to something like that.

  12. “Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Humor is mankind’s greatest blessing.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “If books are not good company, where shall I find it?”
    ― Mark Twain

  13. “Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.”
    ― Mark Twain

    “Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”
    ― Mark Twain (A message to all my young sisters in Christ.)

    “Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.”
    ― Mark Twain (Thiiiiis is why I don’t read that much!!! Who knew???)

    “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”
    ― Mark Twain (Finding the purpose of your life through Christ)

    “If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.”
    ― Mark Twain (Mark Twain’s personal message to me)

    There were more that i liked… but these were my favorites
    (And i was getting tired of putting them on here.)

    1. “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”
      ― Mark Twain (Finding the purpose of your life through Christ)
      Amen 😀 !

  14. ‘The Stolen White Elephant’ was hilarious! I read it in my tree and I had to cling to a branch to prevent myself from falling out of it because I was laughing so much! I loved it when they described what the elephant eats, but I am astonished at how remarkably witty and ironic Mark Twain is! I loved his overall sarcasm. XD ❤

    1. Yeah, I don’t think everyone “got” the humor. But that detective is an idiot!!!! Hahahaha!!!! As if there are a bunch of elephants walking around America, that we need an exact description!!! And everybody seeing the elephant in like 5 different states, and the elephant killing everyone. It is sooooooo funny.

  15. “Had they any other issue besides this one?” “None. He was an only child.” I thought that was pretty funny in “The Stolen White Elephant” and I also really like the word “Vestige”

  16. The Private History of a Campaign that Failed” was Kind of story that an old man would tell you while sitting in his old, squeaky rocking chair. I didn’t really notice any of that dry humor in it either.

  17. I liked ‘About Barbers’. It made me laugh, because this guy gets so serious about the barbers, and which one he gets. The race to see which one he ends up with.

  18. “About Barbers” was a very humorous story about a man’s experience in a barber shop and with the barber himself. Behind this story, you can also see how Twain displays the theme of human nature as well.

    “The Stolen White Elephant” was a well written short mystery. It was very interesting how the plot was carried out. Though the ending was sad, the story was very comical

    In “The History of the Campaign That Failed”, Mark Twain gives us a glimpse of war in a fictional way. Twain introduces us to confederate soldiers who believe they are fighting in the war for the Southern cause(even though they really don’t do anything). Twain then brings us to the realities of war as he illustrates the sad scene of the man who was killed.

  19. “A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”
    ― Mark Twain There are other ones I equally liked, but I can only choose one.

    “About Barbers” –

    I guess I liked this one? I find it awkward that people are concerned about who gets a certain barber… I didn’t know there was good or bad barbers, at least mostly.

    “The Stolen White Elephant” –

    I didn’t really get it to be honest. Is the elephant disappearing from north and south to east and west? Or was the elephant not specified enough, so elephants that looks just like it are roaming around the area?

    “The Private History of a Campaign that Failed” –

    I like this one, especially since we just learned about the wars in history recently. I remember mostly where the war is, who won in that battle, etc.

    1. regarding your comment on “About Barbers” — I get like that when I go to get a pedicure for my feet. There is one lady that I always hope to get, and another one that is lousy. And you can never time it right.

  20. I was in the car today with my mom, and I saw two morman boys. I looked at her and said, “Hey! What if I make a movie with some friends about the love between a morman boy and christan girl? Kind of like Romeo and Juliet.” She looked at me and said, “You’re loving Brandi’s class too much.” 😂 I don’t care what she thinks I’m loving it 💛

  21. “The Private History of a Campaign that Failed” –
    I wasn’t to thrilled by this story… I got bored quite often. Out of all three I can see it was my least favorite. But I did like that I was familiar with the wars taking place, etc.

  22. “The Private History of the Campaign That Failed” was a bit boring to me. At this point I was thinking of finishing “Stuart Little” (amazing book, by the way) and was distracted by thinking of the birds in the tree I was sitting in.. There’s this one pink pigeon that keeps staring at me. She’s making her nest, and she’s friendly, but she will just sit there in the tree with me. Its pretty wonderful to see how amazingly intricate God creates birds, as well as how they have their own personalities and they usually have different looking features. ♡ ~ Anywho, I didn’t understand the story, that’s why I found it boring.

  23. “The Stolen White Elephant”: This was a pretty interesting story with the search for the elephant and the constant telegrams being sent everywhere, but was there supposed to be some twist at the end? If there was, I still haven’t caught it.

  24. Mark Twain quotes

    “If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.”

    “Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”

    “The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.”

    “I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.”

    “Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.”

    “A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”

    “Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.”

    “Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.”

    “In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.”

    “Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.”

    “God created war so that Americans would learn geography.”

    “I did not attend his funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.”

    “I was gratified to be able to answer promptly, and I did. I said I didn’t know.”

    “Life is short, Break the Rules.
    Forgive quickly, Kiss SLOWLY.
    Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably
    And never regret ANYTHING
    That makes you smile.”

    “Loyalty to country ALWAYS. Loyalty to government, when it deserves it.”

    “Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”

    “Wrinkles should merely indicate where the smiles have been.”

    “Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.”

    “What would men be without women? Scarce, sir…mighty scarce.”
    /^~^\ i loved them all so much

  25. “About Barbers” I love how he took something thats happens all the time, just going to the barbers and getting a trim, and made it an interesting tale and wrote in a relatable way to were I was like “oh yeah I know what you mean.” Even though I’ve never been to a barber.

  26. “The Stolen White Elephant”, man was that a great one. So impractical in the way they carried out the case, so nonsensical it’s dialogue, a great story and i feel like it was very Mark Twain in the humor. And in “The Private History of a Campaign that Failed” it wasn’t so much the humor that was inciting but the story and how real it was. The authenticity of it, like you could tell these were real people.

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

