Week 8–Frederick Douglass, 19th Century Religious Movements, and Creating Your New Blog

Literature:

This week you have a privilege to read the words of Frederick Douglass. This man is amazing. You are so lucky. What I want you to do is write down 3 things that he says that blow your mind (in comment section below).

Here is a link to the pdf copy of  The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

Here is the audio, so you can listen while you read along (if you like).

This audio is 3 hours and 44 minutes, so plan your week wisely.

This is a book that you will never forget, so don’t just Google his famous quotes and think that you can get credit for an assignment, without putting in the work.

There will be a test on Friday, that you can’t pass by reading an online summary 🙂 because I care.

Also, I need you to read Lesson 40 in the Notgrass textbook, “Nineteenth Century Religious Movements.” This will set the stage for when we read Emerson and Thoreau. It is important to see the religious philosophy transform, because it will influence the writing.

Writing:

This week, I will probably have your journals, and I won’t be in the mood to grade another essay, so what I am going to do is make you work on a platform for self expression.

When you write an essay, who reads it? Me. Your parents. A friend, maybe.

But what is the point of writing?

  • Is it a grade?
  • A demonstration of learning?
  • Or is it a powerful form of self expression?
  • A tool for influencing and changing the world around you.

Frederick Douglass understood the POWER of the written word.

I want you to think about that.

This week I want you (with your parents help) to set up your own blog.

It is easy, and kinda fun.

I want your parents to help you though, so they can manage your content settings.

Rules:

1. It must be a wordpress blog

2. You may not post your age, your geographic location, or any pictures of yourself (Internet Safety)

3. You may not talk to strangers

4. You may not search for other blogs that are ungodly

5. Your parents must have your password and complete access to your account

6. Please read this with a parent Blogging For Teens (I need your parent to let me know that they read this and they approve of this assignment. Please have them text or email me letting me know that they understand and approve of this assignment.)

7. Remember anything you post is forever online, and anyone can read it.

Requirements:

1. Go to wordpress.com and click on the option to create a blog; it will walk you through the steps.

2. You need to pick a free template that you think feels like something you would like for your blog to look like.

3. You need to come up with the title for your blog.

4. You need to decide what you want your blog to be about. First of all, it is about YOU. But you can use your blog to write about things you are interested in–hiking, skateboarding, sports, cooking, worship songs, music, poetry, taxidermy, etc. But you will also use it to complete a few assignments that I give you.

5. You need to post your first article this week. It could be something as simple as “My Favorite Song is Oceans,” including a link to it.

This is something we are going to build on throughout the year. You don’t need a million articles yet. But feel free to take off and write or design it as much as you like.

To begin, go to wordpress.com and create a new blog. They have easy, step-by-step instructions. And you can play around with it a bit to figure it out. You guys are smart. If you have questions let me know.

It was either this or start working on the business letter. I thought we would do this first. We can do the business letter later.

Have Fun!

Assignments to Turn in:

  • 3 Quotes by Frederick Douglass in the comment section below
  • A link to your blog and first post in the comment section below
  • Your Homework Assignment Handout signed by your parents (bring to class)

Something to think about: Doesn’t having a bigger audience change the way you think about your writing?

Oooh. Deep thoughts.

Just remember, your words are important and they can make a difference.

48 thoughts on “Week 8–Frederick Douglass, 19th Century Religious Movements, and Creating Your New Blog

  1. I calculated how many minutes of reading we should do a day for “The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass” and it came out to 56 minutes… there, I did the math for us, fellow classmates! We can do this! 😀 LOL

  2. (1) I never thought that slaves would receive such a harsh punishment just for doing something wrong. I never knew that they were beaten that badly.
    (2) I had no idea that slaves were never able to visit family, even when they are sick or dying. THESE PEOPLE ARE HUMAN TOO!
    (3) It’s really saddening to know that all slaves, male, female, child, grandfather, and grandmother, all received the same, harsh, treatments. Given so little clothing, and nothing for them to take care of themselves.

    P.S. Copy and pasting is the worst.

    1. I realized that the way you calculated may be an easier way to calculate the amount of reading after I did it the other way. lol of course! xD

  3. I showed my grandpa Steve (awesome man by the way) and he loved my blog! In fact, he has his own blog. So, he decided to buy me a domain name. I no longer have “.wordpress.com” just use theautumnrobin.com and voila! I’m so excited. I own it for a full year! Thanks grandpa Steve! Thank you Lord! Thank you Jesus! 💕 ❤

  4. Sorry for the various usernames. My blog makes that happen haha! XD Any ways, continue on with your shenanigans. ❤ -Kayley

      1. Psi was exploring and viewed your full profile from your about section. It does say you are located in Chino, CA in gravatar. I thought I’d alert you of that before a stalker does lol

  5. “These dear souls came not to Sabbath school because it was popular to do so, nor did I teach them because it was reputable to be thus engaged. Every moment they spent in that school, they were liable to be taken up, and given thirty-nine lashes. They came because they wished to learn. Their minds had been starved by their cruel masters. They had been shut up in mental darkness.”

    “This bread I used to bestow upon the hungry little urchins, who, in return, would give me that more valuable bread of knowledge.”

    ” ‘Shoot me, shoot me!’ said Henry; ‘you can’t kill me but once.’ “

  6. And now, some poetry by Robin:
    once there was mouse who lived in a house, wandered too far, and sparrow ate the mouse. a fox came around, got it in it’s mouth, ate the bird, then yelled a word (preferably “YUM”). Then along came a bear who ate the fox who ate the sparrow who ate the mouse. They all screamed and they all died. The bear got hunted down too. The end.

  7. note, that comment I made on “November 3, 2014 at 1:17 pm” was me speaking my mind, not the three quotes you assigned us.

  8. The three most shocking aspects of the book are as follows:

    1) “To kill a (black) is a half-cent.” The fact the whites would teach such a horrid thing to the little boys is simply outrageous! Its blasphemy! I bet they would be laughing a lot less if their children were in bondage and it was publicly taught that you get a half-cent to kill a black.
    2) Mrs Hamilton and how she beat Henrietta and Mary shocked me. I can only imagine those poor girls and what they must have endured!
    3) “My puffed-out eye and blood-covered face moved her to tears. She took a chair by me, washed the blood from my face, and, with a mother’s tenderness, bound up my head, covering the wounded eye with a lean piece of fresh beef. It was almost compensation for my suffering to witness, once more, a manifestation of kindness from this, my once affectionate old mistress.” Amazing! Finally, somebody in this Narrative has a somewhat truthful, righteous heart! Thank you, Jesus, for the Mistress.

    -Kayley

    1. *Goes with #2*
      2) He owned two slaves. Their names were Henrietta and Mary. Henrietta was about twenty-two years of age, Mary was about fourteen; and of all the mangled and emaciated creatures I ever looked upon, these two were the most so. His heart must be harder than stone, that could look upon these unmoved. The head, neck, and shoulders of Mary were literally cut to pieces. I have frequently felt her head, and found it nearly covered with festering sores, caused by the lash of her cruel mistress. I do not know that her master ever whipped her, but I have been an eye-witness to the cruelty of Mrs. Hamilton. I used to be in Mr. Hamilton’s house nearly every day. Mrs. Hamilton used to sit in a large chair in the middle of the room, with a heavy cow-skin always by her side, and scarce an hour passed during the day but was marked by the blood of one of these slaves. The girls seldom passed her without her saying, “Move faster, you ~black gip!~” at the same time giving them a blow with the cowskin over the head or shoulders, often drawing the blood. She would then say, “Take that, you ~black gip!~” continuing, “If you don’t move faster, I’ll move you!” Added to the cruel lashings to which these slaves were subjected, they were kept nearly half-starved. They seldom knew what it was to eat a full meal. I have seen Mary contending with the pigs for the offal thrown into the street. So much was Mary kicked and cut to pieces, that she was oftener called “~pecked~” than by her name.

  9. My favorite 3 quotes from Frederick Douglass:

    (1)”You will be free as soon as you are twenty-one, but I am a slave for life! Have not I as good a right to be free as you have?”

    (2)”There I was in the midst of thousands, and yet a perfect stranger; without home and without friends, in the midst of thousands of my own brethren— children of a common Father, and yet I dared not to unfold to any one of them my sad condition.”

    (3)”I could do but little; but what I could, I did with a joyful heart,”

    -Christahn

  10. 1)”I could do but little; but what I could, I did with a joyful heart”

    2)”…instead of being here seated by my own table, in the happiness of home, writing this Narrative…”

    3)”…’true to the life,’…”

  11. The Narrative Life of Fredrick Douglas- Quotes
    1.“They seemed to think that the greatness of their masters was transferable to themselves”
    2.“O God, save me! God, deliver me! Let me be free! Is there any God?”
    3.”I could do but little; but what I could, I did with a joyful heart,”

  12. The Narrative Life of Frederick Douglass-

    1. The amount of violence he witnessed at such a young age blew my mind. I became troubled and actually wanted to cry. I’m guessing he was about five or six years of age which astonished me! (I have a younger brother at the age of six, and picturing him having to witness something like that would break my heart 😦

    2. “While I lived with my master in St. Michaels, there was a white young man, a Mr. Wilson, who proposed to keep a sabbath school for the instruction of such slaves as might be disposed to learn to read the New Testament.” I’m glad he mentions that there was someone who wanted to teach them how to read and wanted them to learn.

    3. Fredrick was a smart cookie! (as a child; not saying he wasn’t smart as an adult but he was a smart kid!) When he desired to learn new letters, he sneakily challenged the little white boys to write letters on the ground. By them falling for his trick he was able to learn new letters all by himself!

  13. Fredrick Douglas Quotes

    1.When I was sent of errands, I always took my
    book with me, and by going one part of my errand quickly, I
    found time to get a lesson before my return.

    2.Every tone was a
    testimony against slavery, and a prayer to God for deliverance
    from chains.

    3. have often, in the deep stillness of a
    summer’s Sabbath, stood all alone upon the lofty banks of that
    noble bay, and traced, with saddened heart and tearful eye, the
    countless number of sails moving off to the mighty ocean. The
    sight of these always affected me powerfully.

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

