Week Four Assignments (October 4-October 10)–Sermons of the Great Awakening (And the Persuasive Essay)

Your journal topics are listed on the Journal Topic page.

This week please review Lesson 15 from last weeks History Unit. It is the Bible lesson that discusses the Great Awakening. It will bring up George Whitefield, John Wesley, and Jonathan Edwards. Your homework is listed below.

Monday–“Sinners in the Hands of An Angry God”

First watch

then watch

Write a paragraph comparing the two sermon excerpts, then write a paragraph contrasting them.

Tuesday–Persuasive Essay

  • Select a topic–You can pick any topic to argue!!! If you can’t think of any good topics here is a link to 101 topics for a persuasive essay–have at it!!!
  • So make sure you picked a topic, okay?
  • Then, begin taking notes on both sides of the argument

Wednesday–

Read these quotes from George Whitefield (click on the name) and these quotes from John Wesley (click on the name). Pick your favorite from each preacher, then copy and paste it into the comment section below, along with a sentence telling me why you liked them. This is due Thursday night at 11:59 pm. It is worth 10 points.

Then watch the video above one more time.

Then:

  • Make a tree map (like in the video)
  • Write a “thesis statement”

Thursday–

Read Sample Student Essay

Then write your rough draft (should take about an hour and a half).

***Please bring the following items to class on Friday (10/10)

  • Your compare/contrast paragraphs from Monday (10 points)
  • Your tree map (10 points) 
  • Your Thesis statement (10 points)
  • Your persuasive essay rough draft (50 points)
  • Your Scarlet Letter essay from last week (100 points)
16 thoughts on “Week Four Assignments (October 4-October 10)–Sermons of the Great Awakening (And the Persuasive Essay)

  1. This linked work and not the one on the main homework page, but yea we got it! Thanks for all you do and all your efforts. Your crown is going to be beautiful!

  2. 1. “Think and let think” – John Wesley
    I like this quote because its snappy and a great example of how humans should let other humans think without trying to influence or condemn the natural thought process.

    2. “If your souls were not immortal, and you in danger of losing them, I would not thus speak unto you; but the love of your souls constrains me to speak: methinks this would constrain me to speak unto you forever.” – George Whitefield
    I like this quote because it shows a great deal of passion, concern, and love for the perishing souls of humanity.

  3. Press forward. Do not stop, do not linger in your journey, but strive for the mark set before you.
    -George Whitefield
    this quote reminds me of 1 Corinthians 9;24 “Do you not know that in a race all runners run, but only one receives the prize? so run that you might obtain it.”

    1. “What one generation tolerates, the next generation will embrace.”
      ― John Wesley
      I like this because it reminds me of what we discussed in class about the Scarlet Letter. how what Hester did was so shameful, were as if you did that today, people would be okay with it.

  4. “We are immortal until our work on earth is done.”
    George Whitefield

    “Do all the good you can,
    By all the means you can,
    In all the ways you can,
    In all the places you can,
    At all the times you can,
    To all the people you can,
    As long as ever you can.”
    ― John Wesley, John Wesley

    I loved George Whitefield’s the best because I simply love how flat-out SIMPLE it is to understand for anyone and everyone! My apologies that I sound like a movie review, but I seriously really do like his quote. John Wesley did an extravagant job as well! It’s simple, yet it is the TRUTH. I will try to do all the good I can, by all the means I can, in all the ways I can, in all the places I can, at all the times I can, to all the people I can, as long as I ever can. And, when it comes down to it, I know I can with God. ♥

  5. “God grant that I may never live to be useless!”
    ― John Wesley, I like John Wesley better of the two because in most of his quotes you can feel the love and affection he has for God. It’s almost as if that quote was made just for you.

  6. [Nait]
    “Take care of your life and the Lord will take care of your death.” ~George Whitefield
    I like this quote because it implies that you will go to heaven.

    “God grant that I may never live to be useless” ~John Wesley
    I like this one more because it has a much more “impact” than the last one.

  7. The quote that I like from John Wesley is, “We should be rigorous in judging ourselves and gracious in judging others.”

    I like this quote because quite often, I point at others and say whats wrong with them, when, in reality, I have so much more that I need to fix in my own life. It reminds me of Matthew 7:3-5, which says, “(3) And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye? (4) Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank is in your own eye? (5) Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

    The quote that I like from George Whitefield is,”We are immortal until our work on earth is done.”

    I like this because its so true that until our work is done here, we wont die. So we should be going out and doing all we can with the time we have been blessed with. Only the Lord knows the time and the hour that we will be taken. Lets make the most of the time that we are still breathing.

    ──────▐▀▄─────────▄▀▌
    ──────▐▓░▀▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▀░▓▌
    ──────▐░▓░▄▀░░░▀▄░▓░▌
    ───────█░░▌█▐░▌█▐░░█
    ────▄▄▄▐▀░░░▀█▀░░░▀▌▄▄▄
    ───█▐▐▐▌▀▄░▀▄▀▄▀░▄▀▐▌▌▌█
    █▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█
    █ ███▀▀▐██▌██▌██▌██──▐██▀▀-█
    █ ▀▀███▐█████▌██▌██──▐██▀─-█
    █ █████▐█▐█▌█▌██▌████▐████-█
    █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█

  8. “Press forward. Do not stop, do not linger in your journey, but strive for the mark set before you.”
    -George Whitefield
    I like this quote from George Whitefield because it reminds me to walk worthy of what the Lord has called me to do.
    “I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called,” Ephesian 4:1

    1. “We should be rigorous in judging ourselves and gracious in judging others.” – John Wesley

      I like this quote from John Wesley because it tells us to be critical of ourselves before we are critical of others.

      “And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye? “Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank is in your own eye? “Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:3-5

  9. “Catch on fire and others will love to come watch you burn.”
    ― John Wesley
    The reason I like this quote is because it talks about us being on fire for the Lord and other people wanting to hear more about Him.

  10. “Although believers by nature, are far from God, and children of wrath, even as others, yet it is amazing to think how nigh they are brought to him again by the blood of Jesus Christ.

    -George Whitefield”

    The main reason why I like this citation is due to the fact that no matter what trials and tribulations come our
    way, we must be heavenly minding and keep our eyes on the victor and finish the race we have run with God

    1. wrong quote , this is the one : )
      Press forward. Do not stop, do not linger in your journey, but strive for the mark set before you.

      George Whitefield

Leave Mrs. Brandi a comment : )

